NEWS: The Temper Trap Announce New Album & Tour

After being part of the BBC’s “Sound of 2009”, The Temper Trap broke into the top 10 with their single Sweet Disposition and didn’t leave the chart for a full six months. The album Conditions has gone onto sell over 800,000 copies worldwide.

Following this success, they have been working hard on new material and today The Temper Trap announced their second album, due for release on Infectious Music on 21st May. Hopefully, the band have used up all their creativity on the songs, as the lazy process of naming an album after themselves is a disappointment.

The Temper Trap will be the band’s first record as a newly-expanded five-piece outfit following the permanent addition of Joseph Greer on keyboard and guitar. The self-titled album will feature 12 new songs recorded in Los Angeles with producer Tony Hoffer (Beck, M83, Phoenix).

The tracklisting is as follows:

1. Need Your Love

2. London’s Burning

3. Trembling Hands

4. The Sea Is Calling

5. Miracle

6. This Isn’t Happiness

7. Where Do We Go From Here

8. Never Again

9. Dreams

10. Rabbit Hole

11. I’m Gonna Wait

12. Leaving Heartbreak Hotel

Kindly the band have already given us a sampling of the record by streaming one of the album track’s, Rabbit Hole, from the band’s website – The first single from the album will be the opening track Need Your Love, due for release on the 7th May.

While the band will debut tracks from the new record at SXSW in Austin, Texas, they have announced a full UK tour for May to coincide with the album release that sees them play Northern venues like Manchester’s HMV Ritz and as part of Liverpool’s Sound City Festival. Tickets for the UK shows are on sale at 12pm on Friday 9th March.

Tour Dates

09 May                   Princess Pavilion, Falmouth (tickets)

10 May                   Wedgewood Rooms, Portsmouth (tickets)

12 May                   Coal Exchange, Cardiff (tickets)

13 May                   Northumbria University Student’s Union, Newcastle (tickets)

14 May                   O2 ABC, Glasgow (tickets)

16 May                   HMV Institute, Birmingham (tickets)

17 May                   HMV Ritz, Manchester (tickets)

18 May                   Liverpool Arts Academy – as part of Liverpool Sound City Festival (tickets)

21 May                   Koko, London (tickets)

22 May                   Koko, London (tickets)

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to keep up to date on the latest Northern music news!

Words by: Daniel Savage

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.


Leave a Reply